Novosti
Khirurgii
This journal is
indexed in Scopus



Year 2013 Vol. 21 No 4

ONCOLOGY

DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.18484/2305-0047.2013.4.84   |  

A.V. RUSYN, A.V. IGNAT, V.I. RUSYN, S.M. CHOBEY, K.Y. RUMYANTSEV, O.T. DEVINYAK

RECTAL CANCER ESTIMATION OF THE QUALITY LIFE IN PATIENTS AFTER RADICAL SURGERY

SHEE "Uzhhorod National University",
The Ukraine

Objectives. To estimate the quality of life after sphincter-preserving operations (SPO) and after the extirpation of the rectum (RE).
Methods. The quality of life was estimated using the American Society of Colorectal Surgeons questionnaire (ASCRS) with the Cleveland Clinic scale of incontinence included. Questionnaires were sent out consequentially 6 months and 1 year after the surgery. The questionnaires of patients who responded both to the first and the second request have been taken into consideration: after SPO 47 questionnaires, after RE 30.
Results. In the period up to 6 months after the SPO the patients with significant or full fecal incontinence dominated (72,4%). Up to 1 year the number of them decreased up to 29,8%, and a good continence was observed in 48,9% of patients after SPO. The proportion of such patients increased up to 4,6 folds, compared to 6 months period. Up to 6 months after the SPO the patients with severe and very severe violations of life quality dominated (70,3%). During the same period after the RE the patients with mild and moderate violations of the quality of life were dominated (73,4%). However, up to the 1st year after SPO the quality of life has improved the patients with mild and moderate degree of disturbance has dominated (80,9%).
Conclusion. The quality of continence after SPO improves with increasing time after the intervention: up to 6 months a significant and full fecal incontinence prevails, but up to 1 year almost 50% of patients have a good result. After extirpation of the rectum the quality of life improves faster than after sphincter-preserving operations, but over time after SPO the number of patients with mild violations of the quality of life is reliably 3 folds higher. The conducted studies demonstrated the advantage of the SPO in rectal cancer to improve the quality of life.

Keywords: colorectal cancer, surgical treatment, sphincter preserving operations, extirpation of the rectum, continence, quality of life
p. 84 89 of the original issue
References
  1. Vorobei AV, Zaitsev VF, Zhidkov SA, Beliaev NF. Kolorektal'nyi rak [Colorectal cancer]. Minsk, RB; 2005. 98 p.
  2. Cellini F, Valentini V. Sphincter preservation in the treatment of locally advanced rectal cancers. Oncology (Williston Park). 2012 Sep;26(9):872.
  3. Vorob'ev GI, Odariuk TS, Tsar'kov PV, Kabanova IN, Tupikova AP, Tikhonov AA, Kolpakov AV. Blizhaishie i otdalennye rezul'taty sfinkterosokhraniaiushchikh operatsii s formirovaniem tolstokishechnogo J-obraznogo rezervuara [Short- and long-term results of sphincter-preserving operations with the formation of colonic J-shaped reservoir]. Khirurgiia Zhurn im NI Pirogova. 2000;(6):4147.
  4. Gezen C, Altuntas YE, Kement M, Aksakal N, Okkabaz N, Vural S, Oncel M. Laparoscopic and conventional resections for low rectal cancers: a retrospective analysis on perioperative outcomes, sphincter preservation, and oncological results. J Laparoendosc Adv Surg Tech. 2012 Sep; 22(7):62530.
  5. Warschkow R, Steffen T, Thierbach J, Bruckner T, Lange J, Tarantino I. Risk factors for anastomotic leakage after rectal cancer resection and reconstruction with colorectostomy. A retrospective study with bootstrap analysis. Ann Surg Oncol. 2011 Oct;18(10):277282.
  6. Nishioka M, Shimada M, Kurita N, Iwata T, Morimoto S, Yoshikawa K, Higashijima J, Miyatani T. Clinicopathological analysis of distal margin for rectal cancer after preoperative chemoradiation therapy. Hepatogastroenterology. 2012 Oct;59(119):214246.
  7. Moreno-Sanz C, Manzanera-Daz M, Clerveus M, Cortina-Oliva FJ, de Pedro-Conal J, Picazo-Yeste J. Pelvic reconstruction after abdominoperineal resection of the rectum. Cir Esp. 2011 Feb;89(2):7781.
  8. Kim JC, Kim CW, Yoon YS, Lee HO, Park IJ. Levator-sphincter reinforcement after ultralow anterior resection in patients with low rectal cancer: the surgical method and evaluation of anorectal physiology. Surg Today. 2012 Jun;42(6):54753.
  9. Bryant CL, Lunniss PJ, Knowles CH, Thaha MA, Chan CL. Anterior resection syndrome. Lancet Oncol. 2012;13(9):e4038.
  10. Sunesen KG, Norgaard M, Lundby L, Havsteen H, Buntzen S, Thorlacius-Ussing O, Laurberg S. Cause-specific colostomy rates after radiotherapy for anal cancer: a Danish multicentre cohort study. J Clin Oncol. 2011 Sep 10;29(26):353540.
  11. Rockwood TH, Church JM, Fleshman JW, Kane RI, Mavrantonis C, Thorson AG, Wexner SD, Bliss D, Lowry A. Fecal Incontinence Quality of Life Scale. Quality of Life Instrument for Patients with Fecal Incontinence; American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. Available from: http://www.fascrs. org.
  12. Cleveland Clinic Incontinence Score. Available from: www.uhs.nhs.uk.
Address for correspondence:
88018, Ukraina, g. Uzhgorod, ul. Pobedy, d. 22, Zakarpatskaia oblastnaia klinicheskaia bol'nitsa im. A. Novaka, kafedra khirurgicheskikh boleznei meditsinskogo fakul'teta GVUZ Uzhgorodskii natsional'nyi universitet,
e-mail: rusinkafedra@gmail.com,
Rusin Vasilii Ivanovich
Information about the authors:
Rusy A.V. MD, professor, a head of oncology chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Ignat A.V. A post-graduate student of oncology chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Rusyn V.I. MD, professor, a head of the surgical diseases chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Chobey S.M. MD, professor of the surgical diseases chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Rumyantsev K.E. PhD, an associate professor of the surgical diseases chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Devinyak O.T. An assistant of the pharmaceutical disciplines chair of the medical faculty of SHEE "Uzhhorod National University".
Contacts | ©Vitebsk State Medical University, 2007

Новости
хирургии
Журнал включен
в систему цитирования Scopus



2013 г. №4 Том 21

ОHКОЛОГИЯ

DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.18484/2305-0047.2013.4.84   |  

А.В. РУСИH, А.В. ИГHАТ, В.И. РУСИH, С.М. ЧОБЕЙ, К.Е. РУМЯHЦЕВ, О.Т. ДЕВИHЯК

РАК ПРЯМОЙ КИШКИ – ОЦЕHКА КАЧЕСТВА ЖИЗHИ ПАЦИЕHТОВ ПОСЛЕ РАДИКАЛЬHЫХ ОПЕРАЦИЙ

ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет»,
Украина

Цель. Оценить качество жизни после сфинктеросохраняющих операций (ССО) и экстирпаций прямой кишки (ЭПК).
Материал и методы. Качество жизни оценивали с помощью анкеты Американского общества колоректальных хирургов (ASCRS) с включенной Кливлендской клинической шкалой инконтиненции. Анкеты рассылали последовательно в сроки – 6 месяцев и 1 год после операции. Учитывались только анкеты пациентов, ответивших на оба запроса: после ССО – 47 анкет, ЭПК – 30.
Результаты. В срок 6 месяцев после сфинктеросохраняющих операций преобладали пациенты со значительным или полным недержанием кала – 72,4%. В срок 1 год количество таких пациентов уменьшилось до 29,8%, причем у 48,9% наблюдалось хорошее удержание. Доля таких пациентов увеличилась в 4,6 раза по сравнению со сроком 6 месяцев. В 6 месяцев после ССО преобладали пациенты с тяжелой и крайне тяжелой степенью нарушения качества жизни – 70,3%. В этот же срок после ЭПК преобладали пациенты с легкой и средней степенью нарушения качества жизни – 73,4%. Однако к 1 году после сфинктеросохраняющих операций качество жизни пациентов улучшалось, преобладала доля пациентов с легкой и средней степенью ее нарушения (80,9%).
Заключение. Качество континенции после ССО улучшается с увеличением времени после вмешательства: в срок 6 месяцев преобладает значительное и полное недержание кала, однако к 1 году почти 50% пациентов имеют хорошее удержание. После колостомирующих операций качество жизни улучшается быстрее, чем после сфинктеросохраняющих, однако со временем после ССО количество пациентов с легкой степенью нарушения качества жизни становится достоверно втрое больше. Проведенное исследование доказало преимущества выполнения ССО операций при раке прямой кишки в плане улучшения качества жизни.

Ключевые слова: рак прямой кишки, хирургическое лечение, сфинктеросохраняющие операции, экстирпация прямой кишки, континенция, качество жизни
с. 84 – 89 оригинального издания
Список литературы
  1. Воробей АВ, Зайцев ВФ, Жидков СА, Беляев НФ. Колоректальный рак. Минск, РБ; 2005. 98 с.
  2. Cellini F, Valentini V. Sphincter preservation in the treatment of locally advanced rectal cancers. Oncology (Williston Park). 2012 Sep;26(9):872.
  3. Воробьев ГИ, Одарюк ТС, Царьков ПВ, Кабанова ИН, Тупикова АП, Тихонов АА, Колпаков АВ. Ближайшие и отдаленные результаты сфинктеросохраняющих операций с формированием толстокишечного J-образного резервуара. Хирургия Журн им НИ Пирогова. 2000;(6):41–47.
  4. Gezen C, Altuntas YE, Kement M, Aksakal N, Okkabaz N, Vural S, Oncel M. Laparoscopic and conventional resections for low rectal cancers: a retrospective analysis on perioperative outcomes, sphincter preservation, and oncological results. J Laparoendosc Adv Surg Tech. 2012 Sep; 22(7):625–30.
  5. Warschkow R, Steffen T, Thierbach J, Bruckner T, Lange J, Tarantino I. Risk factors for anastomotic leakage after rectal cancer resection and reconstruction with colorectostomy. A retrospective study with bootstrap analysis. Ann Surg Oncol. 2011 Oct;18(10):2772–82.
  6. Nishioka M, Shimada M, Kurita N, Iwata T, Morimoto S, Yoshikawa K, Higashijima J, Miyatani T. Clinicopathological analysis of distal margin for rectal cancer after preoperative chemoradiation therapy. Hepatogastroenterology. 2012 Oct;59(119):2142–46.
  7. Moreno-Sanz C, Manzanera-Dнaz M, Clerveus M, Cortina-Oliva FJ, de Pedro-Conal J, Picazo-Yeste J. Pelvic reconstruction after abdominoperineal resection of the rectum. Cir Esp. 2011 Feb;89(2):77–81.
  8. Kim JC, Kim CW, Yoon YS, Lee HO, Park IJ. Levator-sphincter reinforcement after ultralow anterior resection in patients with low rectal cancer: the surgical method and evaluation of anorectal physiology. Surg Today. 2012 Jun;42(6):547–53.
  9. Bryant CL, Lunniss PJ, Knowles CH, Thaha MA, Chan CL. Anterior resection syndrome. Lancet Oncol. 2012;13(9):e403–8.
  10. Sunesen KG, Norgaard M, Lundby L, Havsteen H, Buntzen S, Thorlacius-Ussing O, Laurberg S. Cause-specific colostomy rates after radiotherapy for anal cancer: a Danish multicentre cohort study. J Clin Oncol. 2011 Sep 10;29(26):3535–40.
  11. Rockwood TH, Church JM, Fleshman JW, Kane RI, Mavrantonis C, Thorson AG, Wexner SD, Bliss МD, Lowry AС. Fecal Incontinence Quality of Life Scale. Quality of Life Instrument for Patients with Fecal Incontinence; American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. Available from: http://www.fascrs. org.
  12. Cleveland Clinic Incontinence Score. Available from: www.uhs.nhs.uk.
Адрес для корреспонденции:
88018, Украина, г. Ужгород, ул. Победы, д. 22, Закарпатская областная клиническая больница им. A. Новака, Кафедра хирургических болезней медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
e-mail: rusinkafedra@gmail.com,
Rusin Vasilii Ivanovich
Cведения об авторах:
Русин А.В., д.м.н., профессор, заведующий кафедрой онкологии медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Игнат А.В., аспирант кафедры онкологии медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Русин В.И., д.м.н., профессор, заведующий кафедрой хирургических болезней медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Чобей С.М., д.м.н., профессор кафедры хирургических болезней медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Румянцев К.Е., к.м.н., доцент кафедры хирургических болезней медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Девиняк О.Т., ассистент кафедры фармацевтических дисциплин медицинского факультета ГВУЗ «Ужгородский национальный университет».
Контакты | ©Витебский государственный медицинский университет, 2007