Novosti
Khirurgii
This journal is
indexed in Scopus



Year 2018 Vol. 26 No 3

MILITARY FIELD SURGERY

DOI: https://dx.doi.org/10.18484/2305-0047.2018.3.321   |  

IE.V. TSEMA 1, 2, A.A. BESPALENKO 1, 3, A.V. DINETS 1, B.M. KOVAL 1, V.G. MISHALOV 1

STUDY OF DAMAGING FACTORS OF CONTEMPORARY WAR, LEADING TO THE LIMB LOSS

A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University 1, Kiev
National Military Medical Clinical Center of Ministry of Defense of Ukraine 2, Kiev,
Military Medical Clinical Center for Occupational Pathology of Personnel of the Ministry of Defense of Ukraine 3, Irpin,
Ukraine

Objective. To study the main damaging factors and causes of limb amputations in the contemporary war conflict.
Methods. 191 cases of limb amputations in 159 injured persons from 01.06.2014 to 30.06.2016 have been analyzed. The mean age of patients at the moment of getting a wound was 338.9 years (Mσ) (ranging from 18 to 60). There were 158 (99.4%) males and 1 (0.6%) female. The mean term of military service at the moment of injury was 2.03.7 years (Mσ) (ranging from 11 days to 25 years).
Results. One limb amputation was performed in 130 (81.8%) injured persons, two limbs in 27 (17.0%), three/four limbs in 2 (1.3%) patients. 62 upper limb amputations were carried out: 18 (29.0%) of the arm, 25 (40.3%) of the forearm, 19 (30.7%) of the hand. 129 lower limb amputations were performed: 55 (42.6%) of thigh, 53 (41.1%) of the leg, 21 (16.3%) of the foot. In 140 (73.3%) cases, the reason for the limb amputation was mine-explosive injury which in 93 (66.4%) cases caused traumatic limb avulsion. In 16 (8.4%) cases, multiple shrapnel wounds were the main cause of the limb loss; 15 (7.9%) frostbit injuries; 11 (5.8%) bullet gunshot wounds; 4 (2,1%) explosive behind-armor injuries; 3 (1.6%) cases train accident with traumatic limb avulsion; 2 (1.0%) concrete constructions collapse.
Conclusions. In the modern war conflict, limb amputation is determined by both combat (90.6%) and non-combat damaging factors (9.4%). The causes of limb amputations in 69.1% cases were associated with simultaneous occurrence of severe irreversible changes which were inevitable; potential opportunity to prevent limb amputation (or change amputation level) was in 28.8% cases.

Keywords: war-related injuries, armed conflicts and wars, limbs, amputation
p. 321-331 of the original issue
References
  1. Bertani A, Mathieu L, Dahan JL, Launay F, Rongiéras F, Rigal S. War-related extremity injuries in children: 89 cases managed in a combat support hospital in Afghanistan. OrthopTraumatol Surg Res. 2015;101(3):365-68. doi: 10.1016/j.otsr.2015.02.003
  2. Bodalal Z, Mansor S. Gunshot injuries in Benghazi-Libya in 2011: the Libyan conflict and beyond. Surgeon. 2013 Oct;11(5):258-63. doi: 10.1016/j.surge.2013.05.004
  3. Chandler H, MacLeod K, Penn-Barwell JG. Extremity injuries sustained by the UK military in the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts: 2003-2014. Injury. 2017 Jul;48(7):1439-43. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2017.05.022
  4. Rathore FA, Ayaz SB, Mansoor SN, Qureshi AR, Fahim M. Demographics of lower limb amputations in the Pakistan military: a single center, three-year prospective survey. Cureus. 2016 Apr;8(4):e566. doi: 10.7759/cureus.566
  5. Beranger F, Lesquen H, Aoun O, Roqueplo C, Meyrat L, Natale C, Avaro JP. Management of war-related vascular wounds in French role 3 hospital during the Afghan campaign. Injury. 2017 Sep;48(9):1906-10. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2017.06.004
  6. Holt E. Health care collapsing amid fighting in east Ukraine. Lancet. 2015 Feb7;385(9967):494. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(15)60186-6
  7. Schoenfeld AJ, Dunn JC, Bader JO, Belmont PJ Jr. The nature and extent of war injuries sustained by combat specialty personnel killed and wounded in Afghanistan and Iraq, 2003-2011. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2013 Aug;75(2):287-91. doi: 10.1097/TA.0b013e31829a0970
  8. Khomenko I, Shapovalov V, Tsema I, Makarov G, Palytsia R, Zavodovskyi I, IshchenkoI, Dinets A, Mishalov V. Hydrodynamic rupture of liver in combat patient: a case of successful application of damage control tactic in area of the hybrid war in East Ukraine. Surg Case Rep. 2017 Aug 15;3(1):88. doi: ">10.1186/s40792-017-0363-6
  9. Ebrahimzadeh MH, Moradi A, Khorasani MR, Hallaj-Moghaddam M, Kachooei AR. Long-term clinical outcomes of war-related bilateral lower extremities amputations. Injury. 2015 Feb;46(2):275-81. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2014.10.043
  10. Jacobs N, Rourke K, Rutherford J, Hicks A, Smith SR, Templeton P, Adams SA, Jansen JO. Lower limb injuries caused by improvised explosive devices: proposed Bastion classification and prospective validation. Injury. 2014 Sep;45(9):1422-28. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2012.05.001
  11. Schwartz D, Glassberg E, Nadler R, Hirschhorn G, Marom OC, Aharonson-Daniel L. Injury patterns of soldiers in the second Lebanon war. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2014 Jan;76(1):160-66. doi: 10.1097/TA.0b013e3182a9680e
  12. Smith S, Devine M, Taddeo J, McAlister VC. Injury profile suffered by targets of antipersonnel improvised explosive devices: prospective cohort study. BMJ Open. 2017 Aug 7;7(7):e014697. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2016-014697
  13. Rivera JC, Greer RM, Spott MA, Johnson AE. The Military Orthopedic Trauma Registry: The potential of a specialty specific process improvement tool. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2016 Nov;81(5 Suppl 2 Proceedings of the 2015 Military Health System Research Symposium):S100-S103
  14. Allami M, Mousavi B, Masoumi M, Modirian E, Shojaei H, Mirsalimi F, Hosseini M, Pirouzi P. A comprehensive musculoskeletal and peripheral nervous system assessment of war-related bilateral upper extremity amputees. Mil Med Res. 2016;3:34. doi: 10.1186/s40779-016-0102-5
Address for correspondence:
01601, Ukraine,
Kiev, Shevchenko Boul., 13,
A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University,
Department of Surgery 4,
tel.: +38 063 731-59-95,
e-mail: hemorrhoid@ukr.net,
Ievgen V. Tsema
Information about the authors:
Tsema Ievgen V., MD, Associate Professor, Associate Professor of the Department of Surgery 4, A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University, Surgeon of the Abdominal Surgery Department, National Military Medical Clinical Center of Ministry of Defense of Ukraine, Kiev, Ukraine.
http://orcid.org/0000-0002-1178-7529
Bespalenko Artem A., Post-graduate Student, the Department of Orthopedics and Traumatology, A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University, Head of the Traumatology Department, Military Medical Clinical Center for Occupational Pathology of Personnel of Ministry of Defense of Ukraine, Irpin, Ukraine
http://orcid.org/0000-0003-2498-4334
Dinets Andrii V., PhD, Associate Professor of the Department of Surgery 4, A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University, Kiev, Ukraine.
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-9680-7519
Koval Boris M., PhD, Associate Professor of the Department of Surgery 4, A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University, Kiev, Ukraine.
http://orcid.org/0000-0003-0166-8603
Mishalov Vladimir G., MD, Professor, Head of the Department of Surgery 4, A.A. Bogomolets National Medical University, Kiev, Ukraine.
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-7263-7375
Contacts | ©Vitebsk State Medical University, 2007

Новости
хирургии
Журнал включен
в систему цитирования Scopus



2018 г. №3 Том 26

ВОЕHHО-ПОЛЕВАЯ ХИРУРГИЯ

DOI: https://dx.doi.org/10.18484/2305-0047.2018.3.321   |  

Е.В. ЦЕМА 1, 2, А.А. БЕСПАЛЕHКО 1, 3, А.В. ДИHЕЦ 1, Б.М. КОВАЛЬ 1, В.Г. МИШАЛОВ 1

ИЗУЧЕHИЕ ПОРАЖАЮЩИХ ФАКТОРОВ СОВРЕМЕHHОЙ ВОЙHЫ, ПРИВОДЯЩИХ К ПОТЕРЕ КОHЕЧHОСТИ

Национальный медицинский университет им. А.А. Богомольца
Министерства здравоохранения Украины 1, г. Киев,
Национальный военно-медицинский клинический центр Министерства обороны Украины 2, г. Киев,
Военно-медицинский клинический центр профессиональной патологии военнослужащих
Министерства обороны Украины 3, г. Ирпень,
Украина

Цель. Изучить основные поражающие факторы и причины выполнения ампутаций конечностей в современном боевом конфликте.
Материал и методы. Проанализирован 191 случай ампутации конечностей у 159 пострадавших с 01.06.2014 по 30.06.2016 г. Средний возраст пациентов на момент ранения составил 33±8,9 года (M±σ) (от 18 до 60 лет); 158 (99,4%) мужчин и 1 (0,6%) женщина. Средний срок военной службы пострадавшего на момент получения ранения был 2,0±3,7 года (M±σ) (от 11 дней до 25 лет).
Результаты. У 130 (81,8%) пострадавших выполнена ампутация одной конечности, у 27 (17,0%) – двух, у 2 (1,3%) – трех/четырех конечностей. На верхней конечности проведено 62 ампутации: 18 (29,0%) – плеча, 25 (40,3%) – предплечья, 19 (30,7%) – кисти. На нижней конечности выполнено 129 ампутаций: 55 (42,6%) – бедра, 53 (41,1%) – голени, 21 (16,3%) – стопы. В 140 (73,3%) случаях причиной ампутации конечности было минно-взрывное ранение, которое наиболее часто вызывало травматическое отчленение конечности (93 (66,4%)). В 16 (8,4%) наблюдениях причиной потери конечности были множественные осколочные ранения, в 15 (7,9%) – холодовая травма (отморожение), в 11 (5,8%) – пулевое огнестрельное ранение, в 4 (2,1%) – заброневое взрывное поражение, в 3 (1,6%) – наезд поезда с травматическим отчленением конечности, в 2 (1,0%) – обвал бетонных конструкций.
Заключение. В условиях современного боевого конфликта ампутация конечности обусловливается как боевыми (90,6%), так и небоевыми поражающими факторами (9,4%). Причины ампутации конечности в 69,1% случаев связаны с одномоментным возникновением необратимых изменений, при которых потеря конечности является неотвратимой; в 28,8% случаев была потенциальная возможность предотвратить ампутацию конечности (либо понизить ее уровень).

Ключевые слова: боевые повреждения, вооруженные конфликты и войны, конечности, ампутация
с. 321-331 оригинального издания
Список литературы
  1. Bertani A, Mathieu L, Dahan JL, Launay F, Rongiéras F, Rigal S. War-related extremity injuries in children: 89 cases managed in a combat support hospital in Afghanistan. OrthopTraumatol Surg Res. 2015;101(3):365-68. doi: 10.1016/j.otsr.2015.02.003
  2. Bodalal Z, Mansor S. Gunshot injuries in Benghazi-Libya in 2011: the Libyan conflict and beyond. Surgeon. 2013 Oct;11(5):258-63. doi: 10.1016/j.surge.2013.05.004
  3. Chandler H, MacLeod K, Penn-Barwell JG. Extremity injuries sustained by the UK military in the Iraq and Afghanistan conflicts: 2003-2014. Injury. 2017 Jul;48(7):1439-43. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2017.05.022
  4. Rathore FA, Ayaz SB, Mansoor SN, Qureshi AR, Fahim M. Demographics of lower limb amputations in the Pakistan military: a single center, three-year prospective survey. Cureus. 2016 Apr;8(4):e566. doi: 10.7759/cureus.566
  5. Beranger F, Lesquen H, Aoun O, Roqueplo C, Meyrat L, Natale C, Avaro JP. Management of war-related vascular wounds in French role 3 hospital during the Afghan campaign. Injury. 2017 Sep;48(9):1906-10. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2017.06.004
  6. Holt E. Health care collapsing amid fighting in east Ukraine. Lancet. 2015 Feb7;385(9967):494. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(15)60186-6
  7. Schoenfeld AJ, Dunn JC, Bader JO, Belmont PJ Jr. The nature and extent of war injuries sustained by combat specialty personnel killed and wounded in Afghanistan and Iraq, 2003-2011. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2013 Aug;75(2):287-91. doi: 10.1097/TA.0b013e31829a0970
  8. Khomenko I, Shapovalov V, Tsema Iе, Makarov G, Palytsia R, Zavodovskyi Iе, IshchenkoI, Dinets A, Mishalov V. Hydrodynamic rupture of liver in combat patient: a case of successful application of “damage control” tactic in area of the hybrid war in East Ukraine. Surg Case Rep. 2017 Aug 15;3(1):88. doi: 10.1186/s40792-017-0363-6
  9. Ebrahimzadeh MH, Moradi A, Khorasani MR, Hallaj-Moghaddam M, Kachooei AR. Long-term clinical outcomes of war-related bilateral lower extremities amputations. Injury. 2015 Feb;46(2):275-81. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2014.10.043
  10. Jacobs N, Rourke K, Rutherford J, Hicks A, Smith SR, Templeton P, Adams SA, Jansen JO. Lower limb injuries caused by improvised explosive devices: proposed ‘Bastion classification’ and prospective validation. Injury. 2014 Sep;45(9):1422-28. doi: 10.1016/j.injury.2012.05.001
  11. Schwartz D, Glassberg E, Nadler R, Hirschhorn G, Marom OC, Aharonson-Daniel L. Injury patterns of soldiers in the second Lebanon war. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2014 Jan;76(1):160-66. doi: 10.1097/TA.0b013e3182a9680e
  12. Smith S, Devine M, Taddeo J, McAlister VC. Injury profile suffered by targets of antipersonnel improvised explosive devices: prospective cohort study. BMJ Open. 2017 Aug 7;7(7):e014697. doi: 10.1136/bmjopen-2016-014697
  13. Rivera JC, Greer RM, Spott MA, Johnson AE. The Military Orthopedic Trauma Registry: The potential of a specialty specific process improvement tool. J Trauma Acute Care Surg. 2016 Nov;81(5 Suppl 2 Proceedings of the 2015 Military Health System Research Symposium):S100-S103
  14. Allami M, Mousavi B, Masoumi M, Modirian E, Shojaei H, Mirsalimi F, Hosseini M, Pirouzi P. A comprehensive musculoskeletal and peripheral nervous system assessment of war-related bilateral upper extremity amputees. Mil Med Res. 2016;3:34. doi: 10.1186/s40779-016-0102-5
Адрес для корреспонденции:
01601, Украина,
г. Киев, бульвар Шевченко, д. 13,
Национальный медицинский
университет им. А.А. Богомольца,
кафедра хирургии № 4,
тел.: +38 063 731-59-95,
e-mail: hemorrhoid@ukr.net,
Цема Евгений Владимирович
Cведения об авторах:
Цема Евгений Владимирович, д.м.н., доцент, доцент кафедры хирургии № 4, Национальный медицинский университет имени А.А. Богомольца, врач-хирург отделения абдоминальной хирургии, Национальный военно-медицинский клинический центр Министерства обороны Украины, г. Киев, Украина.
http://orcid.org/0000-0002-1178-7529
Беспаленко Артем Анатолиевич, аспирант кафедры травматологии и ортопедии, Национальный медицинский университет имени А.А. Богомольца, начальник травматологического отделения, Военно-медицинский клинический центр профессиональной патологии военнослужащих Министерства обороны Украины, г. Ирпень, Украина.
http://orcid.org/0000-0003-2498-4334
Динец Андрей Владимирович, к.м.н., доцент кафедры хирургии № 4, Национальный медицинский университет имени А.А. Богомольца, г. Киев, Украина.
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-9680-7519
Коваль Борис Михайлович, к.м.н., доцент кафедры хирургии № 4, Национальный медицинский университет имени А.А. Богомольца, г. Киев, Украина.
http://orcid.org/0000-0003-0166-8603
Мишалов Владимир Григорьевич, д.м.н., профессор, заведующий кафедрой хирургии № 4, Национальный медицинский университет имени А.А. Богомольца, г. Киев, Украина.
http://orcid.org/0000-0001-7263-7375
Контакты | ©Витебский государственный медицинский университет, 2007